skip to main content
John Allan, CBE

John was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 1 August 2014 and became Chairman on 12th November 2014.

He is also Chairman of Tesco plc and London First, and is a Non- Executive Director of Worldpay where he was formerly Chairman.

Previously, amongst other senior roles, he was Chairman of Dixons Retail and later Co-Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of the enlarged Dixons Carphone.  He was Chief Financial Officer and a Board Member of Deutsche Post DHL, and Chief Executive of Exel, the supply chain logistics company. He was also previously Chairman of Care UK Health & Social Care and a non-executive director of the Home Office Supervisory Board. He has been a non-executive director at: Royal Mail Group, PHS Group, National Grid, Wolseley, Hamleys, 3i and Connell.

His early career was spent with Lever Brothers, Bristol-Myers Company and Fine Fare. John is a graduate, and now a Regent, of the University of Edinburgh.

David Thomas
Group Chief Executive

David Thomas was appointed Group Chief Executive on 1 July 2015. Prior to this David was Group Finance Director for almost six years, having been appointed to the role on 21 July 2009.

David was formerly the Group Finance Director and the Deputy Chief Executive of The GAME Group plc. Before that he was the Group Finance Director at Millennium and Copthorne Hotels plc and held senior financial roles with House of Fraser plc and Forte plc.

Neil Cooper
Chief Financial Officer

Neil Cooper was appointed as Chief Financial Officer and as an Executive Director on 23 November 2015. Neil was previously Group Finance Director of William Hill PLC – a position held since 2010 – and before that, Neil was Finance Director of Bovis Homes for three years. Prior to that, he spent eight years in a variety of finance roles with Whitbread PLC. Neil qualified as a Management Accountant with Reckitt & Colman PLC (now Reckitt Benckiser) and has also worked as a consultant for PricewaterhouseCoopers' management consultancy practice.

Steven Boyes
Chief Operating Officer

Steven Boyes was appointed as an Executive Director on 1 July 2001 and was responsible for the Group’s operations in the North.

On 5 July 2012, Steven Boyes became the Group’s Chief Operating Officer with responsibility for all of the Group’s housebuilding operations nationally. Steven joined the Group in 1978 and became Technical Director and then Managing Director of Barratt York before being appointed Regional Director for Barratt Northern in 1999.

Mark Rolfe
Senior Independent Director

Mark Rolfe was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 1 May 2008 and became the Group’s Senior Independent Director on 14 November 2012. He is the Chairman of the Audit Committee and is a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees.

Mark is a Non-Executive Director of Debenhams plc. Mark was formerly a Non-Executive Director of The Sage Group plc, Hornby plc and was Finance Director of Gallaher Group plc for seven years until April 2007, when it was acquired by Japan Tobacco Inc. His career with Gallaher spanned 20 years, during which time he served in various finance and executive roles.

Richard Akers
Non-Executive Director

Richard Akers was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 2 April 2012 and is the Chairman of the Remuneration and the Safety, Health and Environmental Committees and a member of the Audit and Nomination Committees.

Richard is a member of the Advisory Board for Battersea Power Station Development Company, is a director of Emaar Malls Group PSJC, and Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.

Richard was a senior executive of Land Securities Group plc (1995-2014), succeeding to the main Board in May 2005 following his appointment as Managing Director of the Retail Portfolio.

Tessa Bamford
Non-Executive Director

Tessa Bamford was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 1 July 2009 and is a member of the Audit, Nomination and Remuneration Committees.

Tessa is also a Non-Executive Director of Wolseley plc, a consultant at Spencer Stuart and a Governor of the British Institute of Florence. Tessa was formerly a Director of Cantos Communications Limited and a Director of J Henry Schroder & Co.

Nina Bibby
Non-Executive Director

Nina Bibby was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 3 December 2012 and became a member of the Audit, Nomination and Remuneration Committees with effect from the same date.

Nina is the Marketing and Consumer Director at O2 (Telefonica UK), with commercial profit and loss accountability for the consumer mobile business. She also has responsibility for brand, marketing communications, business intelligence, devices and sustainability. Previously, she was Global Chief Marketing Officer at Barclaycard, the payments subsidiary of Barclays plc. Prior to Barclaycard, Nina was Senior Vice President, Global Brand Management at InterContinental Hotels Group plc. Before that Nina spent 9 years at Diageo, where she was latterly Commercial Strategy Director.

Jock Lennox
Non-Executive Director

Jock Lennox was appointed a Non-Executive Director on 1 July 2016 and is a member of the Audit, Nomination and Remuneration Committees. He will take over from Mark Rolfe as Chairman of the Audit Committee at the November AGM when Mark steps down from the Board.

Jock is a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of Dixons Carphone plc, A&J Mucklow Group plc and Enquest plc. He is the Senior Independent Director of Hill & Smith Holdings plc (where he also chairs the Audit Committee) and Oxford Instruments plc. He is the Chairman of trustees at the Tall Ships Youth Trust. He will be retiring from the boards of Oxford Instruments and Mucklow in September 2016 and November 2016 respectively. 

Tina Bains
Group Company Secretary

Tina joined the Group in 2008 as Assistant Company Secretary. She was promoted to Deputy Company Secretary in 2011 and subsequently to the role of Group Company Secretary on 1 January 2016. Prior to this, Tina has held various Company Secretarial positions within the private and professional services sectors including TMF Corporate Secretarial Services Limited (2006-2008) and Ernst & Young LLP (2001-2006). Tina is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators.